Life: Be Yourself. Always.

It’s a lesson that always seems to need repeating: be yourself.   Yet in the super competitive world of photography the mantra “be yourself” is difficult to remember.  There are a lot of great photographers out there.  Each of them with a slightly different style.

It’s easy for a novice photographer, like me, to get caught up in all the great images.  It is so easy to look at someone else’s site and say “I want to do that!”  These are the greats after all, what they are doing must be right.  So, with that in mind I edit my pictures.  Hoping to get something that looks like one of those great photographers took the photograph and processed it.

Here is the thing though, I’m coming to the conclusion that that is not the right thing to do.  I don’t know enough about how to edit photos to make mine look like anyone else’s.  I don’t even own Photoshop! All I use is GIMP.  So the past couple of weeks I’ve been processing my photos to the best of my own ability.  I’m not trying to be anyone else and I think the results have turned out well.

I guess I just need to keep reminded myself, to be myself.

Here is an example of me processing a photograph to make it look like something Jeremy Cowart would take.  If you haven’t seen Jeremy Cowart’s work, you should.  He is a amazing photographer! I can only wish to be half as good as he is, one day.  But I’m not as good right now, so I don’t want to fake it.

Here is the image that is just me.  I don’t think it’s that bad and it’s who I am.  I really just tweeked the lighting a bit.  I didn’t mess with the color because I tend to over saturate.  At that point the picture looks really fake and it fails to capture the romantic moment.  Hopefully this image is more real.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “Life: Be Yourself. Always.

  1. Bridget

    I do love color saturation.

    I think part of the problem with “being yourself” is everything can be taken too far. One could try to be so unique they ruin the photographs or end up being like someone else without knowing.

    I’m not sure how many famous photographers there are but I’m sure there are a bagillion different styles.

    I agree it’s a good idea to not get too caught up in everyone Else’s work and doing research is good.

  2. Bridget

    btw I want more pictures!!! I want all of them! lol

Leave a Reply

