I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

Ok, so I know what I’m about to say is completely contradictory to what I posted yesterday but… you can learn a lot of other photographers.

I’m just learning about photography and I learn so much everyday by going to photographers blogs, websites and facebook pages.  Now, I need to learn that I will never be the people I am studying but that doesn’t mean that I can’t learn from them.  I can learn a lot.

I wanted to take some time today to thank three photographers that have taught me a lot about photography and the business.  I am so lucky to know all three of these people and I’m even luckier to have gone to high school with them all!  Concord High School has a great photography elective class (it is probably “had” now.  Due to school budget cuts I think the photography class got cut).  The class didn’t really teach us all that much about being a professional photographer but it inspired a whole group of kids to love photography.  So here they are, my former classmates and photography mentors.

Vincent Ryan Cunanan: Ryan, as we call him, was a year older than me.  He is studying to become a doctor and will probably operate on my brain someday.  He is that smart.  But he is also a great photographer!  He has taken a lot of time to show me the ropes.  He taught me about manual settings on my first camera and about photo editing.  Ryan is also really into the equipment.  He has a ton of flashes, tripods, reflectors and Lord only knows what else.  He knows about photography and is willing to share that knowledge.

Emily Nguyen: Emily graduated the same year as me and she was brave enough to start her own photography business a few years later.  That is something I really admire her for.  She does a lot of work on fashion shoots and models herself.  That’s another thing I think is really brave about her, her willingness to be in front of the camera.  That has to add a whole new depth to her work because she knows a bit more about what her subjects are feeling.

Tea Ho: Tea is one of the kindest most thoughtful people I know.  I am in constant awe of her work, both with photography and writing.  Her photography is so crisp, clean and simple.  It is just beautiful.

Please take a moment to check out each of their work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

