Edits

Becoming a better photographer takes a lot of time and practice. It seems like I do a lot of trying, a lot of failing, a lot of learning and a lot of trying. It’s a very cyclical process. Trying to learn about photography is sometimes a difficult thing. I’m not enrolled in any formal classes, so it’s hard to get good guidance.

I mostly read other photography blogs and that led me to Open Source Photography. It’s a photography message board. Photographers posts questions about their photos, equipment, business tips, etc.  I’ve posted a few of my photos on the site and received some helpful feedback. One main response I hear about my photos is that they are too dark, not enough contrast, not sharp enough and I need to work on composition. Which seems like a lot of problems and is rather discouraging to hear. I can’t re-edit with regards to composition but I can with lighting, contrast and sharpness.  So here are my re-edits.

I will keep doing, learning and failing because that’s just how life works and that’s kinda wonderful.

Re-edit #1: Increase sharpness, lighting and contrast.

Below is the first round of edits…

Edit #2: Increase lighting, sharpness and contrast.

Below was the first edited photo.

Edit #3: Increase lighting, contrast and sharpness.

Edit #4: Increase lighting, sharpness and contrast.

Below is the first edit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

