Wondering Through the Desert

I recently got a chance to go Phoenix, Arizona. To be honest I didn’t know what to expect. I guessed it would be hot, dry and have cactus’ (kinda like the setting of a Road Runner cartoon).

Becca Barrett Photography

I didn’t expect to see soooo many skyscrapers or bank buildings. Above is a view outside my hotel window. It was interesting to see the juxtaposition of new buildings and dry desert mountains. There was also great public transportation and a baseball and basketball stadium. I even got to take a tour of Chase Field!

Becca Barrett Photography

On the last day there I took some time to explore the city and I found St. Mary’s Basilica. It was a really pretty old catholic church tucked in between all the new hotels, transportation systems, convention centers and skyscrapers. I couldn’t help but think how this church has seen this new city grow all around it. It’s the oldest catholic church in Phoenix – it’s over a hundred years old!

Becca Barrett Photography

 

And here are more photos from the trip! (sorry there are no fun people photos…)

Becca Barrett Photography

 

Becca Barrett Photography

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

